Our Online Recovery Community > WE, not ME...

Staying clean

(1/1)

Ddevereaux13:
Hey, my name is Dannielle and I am new to this online meeting format. I got out of an intense treatment facility two days ago and life is kicking my ass. It is going 100 miles an hour and I no longer am and it sucks. Right now I am taking hour by hour, letting go of old people, places and things but my life is still hectic. I meditate each morning and night, keep myself busy with meetings, NA literature, daily inspirations and/ quotes of letting go, but this is hard and I do not want my disease to win out. I am so very grateful to be clean today and like the way I feel so why do I feel ambivalent about feeling and liking the new person I am? I feel slow, selfish with my time and still in demand of life. If I am not constantly moving I want to be using, if I am triggered I want to run away and not talk about it, if I feel irritated and play the thought through I feel guilty. I am tired of the guilt. This is all so new to me and honestly I am scared. Dannielle.

dragonfly316:
Hello Danielle.  I am sorry to hear that you are going through such torture.  If you don't mind sharing, how long were you in treatment?  You see, I have only been sober one day and you are describing what I am going through on just day one.  How long does this misery last?  If I can help in any way, please reach out.  In the mean time, good luck.

Dragonfly316

Ddevereaux13: